altered books…and more

I’m just getting warmed up to blogging and I’m still learning but I know my friends, both old and new , will be forgiving.

First I want to say Happy Birthday to my First Born, my only son, Lyn.  He will be turning 30 in two short days.  July 17, 5:30 am.  In celebration he is flying to Minnesota  and from there he is taking a two week road trip through the mid-west:  nine states, eleven baseball games, a few museums tossed in there and a flight home.  I love my son more than anything but this is one road trip I’ll pass on.  Take me to San Francisco.

Today I want to share one of my favorite things, altered books.

They are rather hard to photograph (maybe I’ll get better).  For now I’m thrilled if I can get them from my camera to my blog.  Forget about getting them in the right order or any semblance of order, for that matter.  But you get it, right?……Wrong?  Let me know.

Altered books can be big or small, thick or thin. They’re magical, if you can dream it, they can take you there,

These treasures require a hard-bound book from a thrift store, a lotta glue, a little paint, vintage & hardware & a sprinkling of wishes & day dreams.  It is the wishes and day dreams that truly make altered books a little magical.

About bestfriendsarebest

I'm a fifty year old mother of three adult children with a recent empty nest. I've been married one time for 34 years, so far. I've done a bit of traveling, had a few accomplishments and still have a few dreams lefts. All of this and more you will learn about me as we travel along.
This entry was posted in Me, Mine & My Art. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to altered books…and more

  1. Bridget,
    Yay! I’m so happy you started a blog! I’m happy I will be able to keep up with your adventures and projects more now. 🙂 I love your altered books. Did you know if you click on the picture, you can make it bigger, too?
    Tell Lyn happy birthday from blogland! 😉

  2. deb says:

    Hi and WELCOME TO BLOGLAND!!!
    You could come to MN with your son and visit ME!!! I am so looking forward to your posts. Thank you again for the whimsy jar:)
    I hope you will be able to add a “follower” gadget on your sidebar. That lets gals know that you have a new post when they(me) checks my dashboard.
    Deb 🙂
    Garage Sale Gal

  3. Now I can put a face with the name….I just love that….I hope you enjoy blogging, I really think you will!

  4. I’m so glad you started a blog!! Yay! I love your work and it’s nice to have a face to put with your name. Happy Birthday to your son!! Wow! How lucky were you to have Melinda as a swap partner. She is one of my best blogger friends and a wonderful person. I’m so glad your here Bridget!!

    Sherry

Leave a Reply

